February 18, 2021

Warren Joins Peters and Colleagues in Pressing Postmaster General to Restore On-Time Delivery and Stop Harmful Changes

Text of Letter (pdf) 

WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) joined Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Chairman of the Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee, and 32 of their colleagues in pressing Postmaster General Louis DeJoy on persistent mail delays and what action he is taking to restore on-time mail delivery. 

"Our constituents have experienced missed paychecks and court notices, delayed critical prescriptions, an inability to reach small business customers and suppliers, lost rent payments and delayed credit card payments resulting in late fees, breakdowns in service to their communities, late personal mail such as holiday packages, and more. Reportedly, mail delivery has not yet recovered after the peak season, with constituents continuing to experience delays despite the tireless efforts of postal workers," wrote the Senators.

"It is your duty, first and foremost, to protect service and ensure timely mail delivery for every person in this nation. We demand that you not make additional changes that will harm service for the American people," the Senators continued. "In addition, we urge you to be fully transparent with the public about Postal Service operations and the reasons they are still facing delays."

Recent reports have also suggested DeJoy intends to implement a strategic plan that would further slow down the mail and unacceptably decrease service for millions of Americans who rely on the Postal Service.

This letter was also signed by U.S. Senators Tom Carper (D-Del.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisc.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Angus King (I-Maine.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) and Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.).

Senator Warren has been fighting to protect the U.S. Postal Service and has previously pressed Postmaster General Louis DeJoy for transparency in mail delivery operations.

  • In September 2020, Senators Warren and Bob Casey released new findings from their investigation into USPS's delayed delivery of mail-order medications following operational changes to the Postal Service by Postmaster General Louis DeJoy.
  • In August 2020, Senator Warren called on the USPS Board of Governors to release their federal financial disclosure forms that describe potential conflicts of interest that may affect their actions on the Board. 
  • Along with her Democratic colleagues, Senator Warren also requested in August 2020 that the USPS Inspector General investigate all staffing and policy changes put in place under Postmaster General Louis DeJoy.