December 16, 2021

Warren, Daines Bipartisan Bill to Award Congressional Gold Medals to Service Members Killed in Afghanistan Signed into Law

Text of Bill (PDF)

Washington, D.C.  – United States Senators Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) and Steve Daines (R-Mont.) today applauded their bipartisan bill to posthumously award Congressional Gold Medals to the 13 American servicemembers who lost their lives during the terrorist attacks in Afghanistan being signed into law. 

“Today President Biden signed my bipartisan bill with Senator Daines into law – recognizing the contributions of 13 servicemembers, including U.S. Marine Corps Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo of Lawrence, Massachusetts, with the Congressional Gold Medal. These heroic individuals were killed in Afghanistan while serving our country and working to protect the lives of others and deserve recognition,” Senator Warren said

“This August,13 brave men and women gave the last full measure in service to their country during the chaotic withdrawal from Afghanistan. I’m glad to see my bipartisan bill signed into law, which will help ensure the sacrifice of these American heroes is forever remembered with the Congressional Gold Medal,” Senator Daines said.

On September 15, 2021, Senators Warren and Daines introduced the bipartisan bill in the Senate. Representative Lisa McClain (R-Mich.) introduced the companion bill in the U.S. House of Representatives.

On October 25, 2021, Senators Warren’s and Daines’ companion bill passed in the U.S. House of Representatives.

On November 18, 2021, Senators Warren’s and Daines’ companion bill passed the U.S. Senate.