December 05, 2016

Sens. Warren, Schumer, Murray, Brown, and Franken Release Joint Statement on DOL Appeal of Overtime-Pay Rule Injunction

Washington, D.C. - Sens. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Charles E. Schumer (D-N.Y.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), and Al Franken (D-Minn.) released the following statement Friday on the Department of Labor's (DOL) decision to appeal a federal court injunction of the new overtime-pay rule: 

"We're glad the Department of Labor has decided to appeal a Texas court's misguided decision to take money out of the pockets of hard-working Americans.  Because Republicans and corporate lobbyists were able to persuade a judge to block this rule, more than 4 million Americans will not get the raises they deserve for the extra hours they work.

"President-Elect Trump should immediately announce his intention to stand up for 4 million hardworking Americans by supporting the Department's appeal.  If he won't, the American people will know that he has chosen special interests and their armies of lawyers and lobbyists over hardworking people."