February 13, 2017

New England Senators Introduce Resolution to Congratulate Super Bowl LI Champion Patriots

Washington, DC - Following the incredible and historic Super Bowl LI win by the New England Patriots over the Atlanta Falcons, a group of New England Senators introduced a resolution to remember and congratulate the Championship team. Sponsors of the resolution include Senators Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.), Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Susan Collins (R-N.H.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Angus King (I-Maine), and Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.). The resolution passed the Senate by unanimous content. The full text of the resolution is as follows:

Title: Congratulating the New England Patriots on their victory in Super Bowl LI.

Whereas, on Sunday, February 5, 2017, the New England Patriots (in this preamble referred to as the "Patriots") won Super Bowl LI by a score of 34 to 28, defeating the Atlanta Falcons in Houston, Texas;

Whereas, during the second half of Super Bowl LI, the Patriots scored 31 consecutive points, overcoming the largest deficit that any team has overcome in Super Bowl history;

Whereas the victory in Super Bowl LI earned the Patriots their fifth Super Bowl championship;

Whereas Tom Brady-
(1) broke, tied, or extended several Super Bowl records in leading the Patriots to their fifth Super Bowl victory; and
(2) was named the Super Bowl Most Valuable Player for a record fourth time;

Whereas James White set new Super Bowl records by catching 14 passes and scoring 20 points, including the game-winning touchdown run in overtime;

Whereas Bill Belichick won an unprecedented fifth Super Bowl title as a head coach;

Whereas the performance of the defense in the second half was critical to the Patriots' victory in Super Bowl LI, and key plays by Trey Flowers, Dont'a Hightower, and Alan Branch contributed to for shutting out the Atlanta Falcons in the final 23:31 of regulation;

Whereas Julian Edelman hauled in a miracle catch for the ages to continue a fourth quarter drive by the Patriots, helping to send the game to overtime;

Whereas Robert Kraft, the owner of the Patriots, eloquently stated, "Two years ago, we won our fourth Super Bowl down in Arizona and I told our fans that was the sweetest one of all. . . . But I want to say to our fans, to our brilliant coaching staff, our amazing players who were so spectacular, this is unequivocally the sweetest"; and

Whereas the Patriots "did their job" again, and "took no days off" delivering a fifth Lombardi Trophy to New England: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate congratulates the New England Patriots on their dramatic victory in Super Bowl LI.