July 31, 2015

Watertown Tab and Press: Watertown Police awarded Congressional Badge of Bravery

Watertown, MA - Several of Watertown's finest were honored with the Congressional Badge of Bravery Friday afternoon, just over two years after they engaged in a dramatic shootout that ended the Boston Marathon Bombers week of terror.

Watertown Police Sergeants John MacLellan, Jeffrey Pugliese, and officer Joseph Reynolds, received the awards during a ceremony at the Watertown station Friday. U.S. Senators Ed Markey and Elizabeth Warren, U.S. Representatives Joe Kennedy and Katherine Clark, and U.S. Attorney Carmen Ortiz were on hand to bestow the medals. Watertown Police officers, including MacLellan, Pugliese, and Reynolds have also received the Top Cop award and The Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor for their heroics on April 19, 2013.


Warren called the recipients "three of the very best." She commended the police and said even though first responders are only recognized in times of emergency, they remain vigilant everyday.

"Sergeants MacLellan, Sergeant Pugliese, and officer Reynolds, for your courage in the face of terror, for your bravery in the service of the public, I am proud to honor your today with the congressional badge of bravery," Warren said. "Thank you for your service to Watertown, and your service to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts."

Read the full article on the Wicked Local Watertown website here.