Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 1, 2021

President Joseph R. Biden The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue Northwest Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Biden:

Thank you for the bold early actions your administration has taken to prioritize climate action and environmental justice, including your announcement in January to withdraw permits for the Keystone XL pipeline. We urge you to build on this promising start by ordering a shutdown of the Dakota Access Pipeline (DAPL) while it undergoes a court-mandated environmental review.

In 2016, we witnessed egregious environmental racism as North Dakota law enforcement officials violently removed protestors from the path of DAPL, many of them from the nearby Standing Rock Sioux Tribe. Fortunately, President Obama denied the pipeline an easement to cross a federal reservoir along the Missouri River, while requiring the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) to conduct an Environmental Impact Statement (EIS). This action was quickly undermined by President Trump, who upon taking office reversed course and granted the easement while ignoring the concerns of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe.

On January 26, 2021, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit issued a ruling upholding a March 2020 United State's District Court decision that the USACE violated the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) when it granted the easement. The USACE did not adequately consider the potential impacts of the pipeline on the Standing Rock Sioux Reservation, and did not consult with the tribe and other affected communities about those impacts. The tribe draws its water from the Missouri River, and rightfully fears an oil spill could disproportionately affect their drinking water, as well as hunting and fishing rights. The District Court postponed its hearing on the shutdown until April 9th to discuss its plans with the Administration.

In July of 2020, the District Court invalidated DAPL's easement and ordered the pipeline shut down while the USACE prepares an Environmental Impact Statement (EIS). The federal appeals court has upheld this ruling that the pipeline is illegal, and directed the government to make a decision on the pipeline promptly.

As you consider how to proceed, we encourage you to meet with members of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe and other impacted Tribes to better understand how the DAPL affects their lands, treaty rights, and environmental priorities. By shutting down this illegal pipeline, you can continue to show your administration values the environment and the rights of Indigenous communities more than the profits of outdated fossil fuel industries. This is a critical step towards righting the wrongs of the past and setting our nation on a path of environmental, climate, and social justice.

Sincerely,

Nanece Diag Barragén

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

/s/ Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

/s/ Steve Cohen Member of Congress

/s/ Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

/s/ Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

/s/ Jared Huffman Member of Congress

/s/ James P. McGovern Member of Congress

/s/ Grace Napolitano Member of Congress

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

/s/ Bernie Sanders United States Senator

/s/ Edward J. Markey United States Senator

/s/ Cory Booker United States Senator

/s/ Alex Padilla United States Senator

/s/ Ron Wyden United States Senator

/s/ Adriano Espaillat Member of Congress

/s/ Cori Bush Member of Congress

/s/ Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress /s/ Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

/s/ Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

/s/ Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

/s/ Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

/s/ Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

/s/ Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

/s/ Mondaire Jones Member of Congress /s/ Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

/s/ Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

/s/ Ro Khanna Member of Congress

/s/ Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

/s/ Marie Newman Member of Congress

/s/ Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress