

January 14, 2020

The Honorable Donald J. Trump President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Trump:

We write in strong support of Puerto Rico's request for a major disaster declaration for the widespread damage caused by the powerful 6.4-magnitude earthquake on January 7, and the hundreds of preceding and subsequent aftershocks which struck the island starting late on December 28. Enclosed is a copy of the governor's request.

More than two days after the 6.4-magnitude event, more than one million of our fellow Americans in Puerto Rico were still without power. Eight landslides had been recorded, over 2,000 individuals were in shelters including 125 minors, and the island's communication's grid was only 75 percent operational. Many schools have been closed indefinitely and will only be reopened upon inspection. The earthquake tragically claimed the life of a 73-year-old man in the southern city of Ponce and many more were injured. The Costa Sur power generation plant – the largest on Puerto Rico's grid – sustained damage so severe that the Island will need 500 megawatts of emergency generation for the rest of the year. Clearly, the situation in Puerto Rico is dire.

Reflecting the island-wide damage from these earthquakes, Governor Wanda Vázquez Garced has requested that you declare a major disaster in Puerto Rico on January 11, 2020, pursuant to the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (P.L. 93-288). Specifically, the governor has requested Individual Assistance for the municipalities of Guanica, Guayanilla, Penuelas, Ponce, Utuado, and Yauco; Public Assistance, including direct Federal assistance for the municipalities of Guanica, Guayanilla, Penuelas, Ponce, Otuca, Guayanilla, Penuelas, Ponce, San German, and Yauco; and Hazard Mitigation for the entire commonwealth.

These earthquakes make it even more unconscionable the Department of Housing and Urban Development's (HUD) inaction in disbursing the \$8.3 billion in Community Development Block Grants for Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) funding appropriated by the United States Congress for mitigation projects in Puerto Rico. There is no substantive reason to withhold this congressionally-mandated disaster aid for our fellow Americans on the island, and indeed failure to disburse these funds has a damaging material impact on Puerto Rico and its residents. The bottom line is that this money must be made available to Puerto Rico now and failure to do so is in violation of Congress' explicit intent. We appreciate your swift attention and consideration of this request and stand ready to work with your administration and the U.S. Federal Emergency Management Agency to deliver support and resources to the impacted communities.

Charles E. Schumer United States Senator

H: OO: C Kind

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

Kamala D. Harris United States Senator

Jeffery A. Merkley United States Senator

Jack Reed United States Senator

Edward J. Markey

United States Senator

Sincerely,

Robert Menendez

United States Senator

Gary C. Peters United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

hiller

Chris Van Hollen United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

lihar Ohmen

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Ron Wyden United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator

Patrick Leahy United States Senator

Thomas R. Carper United States Senator

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Clickth Warren

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Upale

Tom Udall United States Senator

Patty Murray United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

himhome

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy

United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin United States Senator

Tina Smith United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow United States Senator

CC: Peter Gaynor, Administrator of the US Federal Emergency Management Agency Ben Carson, Secretary of US Department of Housing and Urban Development